Health and Social Care BTEC

BTEC Health and Social Care

QUALIFICATION:  Health and Social Care BTEC Level 2 Award



Year 10: Students will complete 2 compulsory core units during Year 10:

Unit 1 - Human Lifespan Development

Unit 2 - Health and Social Care Values.


Year 11: Students will complete 2 optional units during Year 11 from:

Unit 3 - Effective Communication in Health and Social Care

Unit 4 - Social Influences on Health and Wellbeing

Unit 5 - Promoting Health and Wellbeing Internal

Unit 6 - The Impact of Nutrition on Health and Wellbeing

Unit 7 - Equality and Diversity in Health and Social Care

Unit 8 - Individual Rights in Health and Social Care


This BTEC level 2 is a practical, work-related course that is equivalent to a GCSE at grades A to C but awarded as a Distinction, Merit or Pass. You will study topics that are based upon realistic workplace situations, activities and demands. You will complete 4 units of work over the two years and these are assessed by 4 individual assignments. There is one exam for Unit 1 at the end of Year 10. Overall, you have the opportunity to achieve either a Distinction, Merit or Pass grade (at level 2, equivalent to GCSE grades A* to C) or a Pass at Level 1 (equivalent GCSE grades D to G).



The qualification will give you the knowledge, understanding and competency needed when considering entering employment in the health and social care sector. You will gain grounding in the essential skills and broad fundamentals crucial to this area of study, giving you the opportunity to build on these afterwards, or to enter into your first job within this sector.

The qualification consists of four units totalling 120 guided learning hours. The structure of the course allows you to gain a broad foundation in the sector of health and social care. The course further aims for you to develop your personal skills, whilst gaining an understanding of human development and the factors that may affect each of us during our lives.



The positions and functions/s of the main organs of the human body; the care that should be given to patients with malfunctions; factors that can influence health and potential health hazards; health and safety legislation for health and social care environments; rights of patients and responsibilities to patients; equality of individuals in society; communication skills and effective communication.



Following completion of the BTEC First Certificate in Health and Social Care, successful candidates would be able to enter initial employment as a healthcare assistant or social worker. If you achieve an overall pass grade or better in the BTEC First Certificate in Health and Social Care, it is possible for you to progress further to a BTEC First Diploma in Health and Social Care later on in College, or to move on to a higher level qualification such as a Level 3 BTEC National Certificate in Health and Social Care (equivalent to A Levels) or to other related A Level subjects.